Artboard 1
search

How to apply

Selection into the Australian General Practice Training (AGPT) program is a highly competitive merit-based process and involves a three or four-year full-time commitment depending on your choice of fellowship.

The application process is managed by the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACCRM). Applicants must decide which fellowship they intend to pursue and apply directly to the relevant college.

Applicants should note that RACGP and ACRRM have different application processes. For details, please visit the individual college websites.

Step 1: Online Application

Visit the college website of your choice and complete an online application form.

Step 2: Eligibility Check

The Department of Health conducts a check on all applicants to see if they meet the eligibility criteria. This information is then forwarded to the colleges.

Step 3: Fee Payment

Once your eligibility has been confirmed, you must pay an application fee for the selection process to your chosen college(s).

Step 4: Selection

Each college has its own selection process. Please visit their websites for more details:

Key dates for AGPT 2020 Selection

Key dates for the 2020 intake of the AGPT program are listed below. For more details visit the AGPT, RACGP or ACRRM websites.

Monday, 25 March 2019 Applications open at 10.00am (AEST)
Monday, 29 April 2019 Applications close on 10.00am (AEST)
Thursday, 11 July 2019 ACRRM Multiple Mini Interviews - Cairns
Monday, 29 July to Friday 2 August 2019 JCU training offers sent to successful ACRRM candidates
Thursday, 1 August 2019 RACGP Multiple Mini Interviews - Cairns
Saturday, 3 August 2019 RACGP Multiple Mini Interviews - Mackay & Hervey Bay
Sunday, 4 August 2019 RACGP Multiple Mini Interviews - Sunshine Coast
Monday, 5 August to Friday 9 August 2019 JCU training offers sent to successful RACGP candidates
Monday, 12 August 2019 ACRRM offer acceptances due to JCU
Thursday, 15 August 2019 RACGP offer acceptances due to JCU

Further information
ACRRM: www.acrrm.org.au        RACGP: www.racgp.org.au        AGPT: www.agpt.com.au 

Get In Touch

Ph: 07 4781 3262
Building 39, Level 1,
James Cook University,
Townsville QLD 4811