Skip to main content
search

How to apply and key dates

Selection into the ACRRM and RACGP program is a highly competitive merit-based process and involves a three or four-year full-time commitment depending on your choice of fellowship.

2023 Intake 2 Application Dates:

  • ACRRM Monday, 1 August 2022 to Monday, 29 August 2022
  • RACGP Monday, 8 August 2022 to Tuesday, 30 August 2022

Sign up to stay updated with information about upcoming webinars or register your interest with ACRRM and RACGP.

The AGPT selection process

The application process is managed by the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACCRM) and the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP). Applicants must decide which fellowship they intend to pursue and apply directly to the relevant college. 

Applicants should note that ACRRM and RACGP have different application processes. For details, please visit the individual college websites. 

More information: 

Step 1: Online Application

Visit the college website of your choice and complete an online application form.

Step 2: Eligibility Check

Each college conducts a check on their applicants’ eligibility including Citizenship/PR status, medical qualification and AHPRA registration.

Step 3: Fee Payment

Once your eligibility has been confirmed, you pay an application fee for the selection process to your chosen college(s).

Step 4: Selection

Each college has its own selection process. Please visit their websites for more details:

Key dates for the 2023 first intake

ACRRM Selection 

Tuesday, 5 July to Friday, 8 July 2022 ACRRM/JCU MMIs held by Zoom
Thursday, 28 July 2022 ACRRM Training Offers Distributed via ACRRM portal
Friday, 5 August 2022 ACRRM Offer Acceptances due to JCU

RACGP Selection

Tuesday, 14 June to Thursday, 16 June 2022 RACGP CAAKT
Thursday, 14 July 2022 RACGP Applicants Advised of RTO Interview Allocations
Friday, 15 July 2022 RACGP/JCU MMI invitations with booking link distributed to applicants via email by close of business.  Bookings close 5pm Wednesday, 20 July 2022.
By COB Wednesday, 20 July 2022

RACGP MMI Booking Confirmation letters distributed by email.

Applicants offered an opportunity to book a test call prior to their interview.
Saturday, 23 July 2022  JCU’s RACGP MMIs held by Zoom 
Saturday, 30 July 2022 JCU’s RACGP MMIs held by Zoom
Thursday, 4 August 2022 JCU’s RACGP MMIs held by Zoom
Saturday, 6 August 2022 JCU’s RACGP MMIs held by Zoom
Sunday, 7 August 2022 JCU’s RACGP MMIs held by Zoom
Monday, 8 August 2022 RACGP Training Offers Distributed by Email
Friday, 19 August 2022 RACGP Training Offer Acceptances Due
 

Key dates for the 2023 second intake

We look forward to sharing more information on 2023 AGPT Intake 2 closer to the starting dates, shared below by College:

  • ACRRM Monday, 1 August 2022 to Monday, 29 August 2022
  • RACGP Monday, 8 August 2022 to Tuesday, 30 August 2022

ACRRM Selection 

Tuesday, 1 November to

Friday, 4 November 2022

ACRRM/JCU MMIs held by Zoom
Thursday, 17 November 2022 ACRRM Training Offers Distributed via ACRRM portal
Friday, 25 November 2022 ACRRM Offer Acceptances due to JCU

RACGP Selection

Wednesday, 5 October to

Thursday, 6 October 2022

RACGP CAAKT

Friday, 28 October 2022

RACGP Applicants Advised of RTO Interview Allocations

Saturday, 5 November to

Sunday, 13 November 2022 

JCU’s RACGP MMIs held by Zoom

Hospital Information Sessions

Event Date Time Venue Email
Thursday, 23 June 2022 5pm - 8pm JCU GP Training katrina.cordes@jcu.edu.au
Wednesday, 6 July 2022 12:00pm - 12:30pm Nambour Hospital melinda.wood@jcu.edu.au
Thursday, 7 July 2022 12:30pm - 1:20pm Gympie Hospital  melinda.wood@jcu.edu.au
Monday, 11 July 2022 12pm - 1pm Townsville University Hospital katrina.cordes@jcu.edu.au
Wednesday, 13 July 2022 12:30pm - 1:30pm Gladstone Hospital rachael.hopper@jcu.edu.au
Thursday, 14 July 2022 12.15pm - 12.45pm Bundaberg Hospital meg.limb@jcu.edu.au
Tuesday, 19 July 2022 11:45am Lunch
12:30pm - 1:25pm Edu Session
Sunshine Coast University Hospital melinda.wood@jcu.edu.au
TBC TBC TBC jcugp.cairns@jcu.edu.au
Thursday, 21 July 2022 1:00pm - 1:30pm Hervey Bay Hospital meg.limb@jcu.edu.au
Thursday, 21 July 2022 11:45am Lunch
12:30pm - 1:25pm Edu Session
Sunshine Coast University Hospital melinda.wood@jcu.edu.au

Drop In Zoom Sessions

Join one of our drop in sessions to speak directly with our team and chat about your application. 

Date

Time

Session Link

Password

28/07/2022

12-1pm

https://jcu.zoom.us/j/82013899153?pwd=b0xpZnV5Z3FoOVdGdGxFNWlGZEY0Zz09

862408

1/08/2022

12-1pm

https://jcu.zoom.us/j/82465533147?pwd=RHNScWRrQ2E0ZG9rUGhraElySWxudz09

666673

4/08/2022

6-7pm

https://jcu.zoom.us/j/81373238835?pwd=b1BUWE1QNHd3YjljM0RPUHZHS1pXdz09

658659

10/08/2022

12-1pm

https://jcu.zoom.us/j/81226851295?pwd=MXZXWnF0c0phMVF4NGo4L0szNEhOdz09

308293

17/08/2022

6-7pm

https://jcu.zoom.us/j/83328624913?pwd=RGxKMms4ajJCUlk2L2pYQnp1Y04xdz09

840374

Get In Touch

Ph: 07 4781 3262
Building 39, Level 1,
James Cook University,
Townsville QLD 4811