Artboard 1

COVID-19 Information for registrars, supervisors and training posts

Our leadership

Jame Cook University's (JCU) General Practice training program is led by a dedicated and passionate leadership team that receive guidance from the Strategic Leadership Council.

Leadership team

Associate Professor Peta-Ann Teague
Contact details

Associate Professor Lawrie McArthur
General Practice and Rural Medicine
Contact details

Dr Paula Heggarty
Chair, Education Committee
Contact details

Dr Aaron Hollins
Chair, Remote Committee
Contact details

Associate Professor Catrina Felton-Busch
Chair, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Committee
Contact details

Carol Kahn
Head of Program Operations
Contact details

Strategic Leadership Council

The JCU GP training program Strategic Leadership Council comprises experienced professionals from across the healthcare sector, who have been selected based on their skills and experience.

The Council informs and shapes the work of the GP training program, and covers a range of perspectives.


Strategic Leadership Council members

Associate Professor Harry Jacobs (Chair)
Associate Professor Jacobs was a GP in Mackay for 32, a GP Medical Educator for 20 years, and head of James Cook University’s Mackay Clinical School for ten years, before retiring in 2011. Associate Professor Jacobs is an examiner for the Royal College of General Practitioners, and is Chair of JCU's GP training program Strategic Leadership Council.


Dr Chris Appleby

Dr Chris Appleby has a 20-year plus career in the design of innovative models of rural Primary Health Care. Chris has co-owned and operated General Practice Medical Centres in rural communities such as Richmond and Cloncurry, in North West Queensland and Montville and Maleny, in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Dr Appleby is currently the Practice Support Advisor for the whole of program at James Cook University, where he is also an Adjunct Senior Lecturer.  Dr Appleby is a Board Director at the Western Queensland Primary Health Network, where he Chairs the Finance & Risk Committee and is also a Board Director at the North West Hospital and Health Service, where he again is Chair of the Finance & Risk Committee. He holds a Project Management Position with Gidgee Healing, the Aboriginal Medical Service for North Western Queensland, where he works from Normanton, in the Gulf of Carpentaria.

Associate Professor Bruce Chater
Associate Professor Chater is Chair of Queensland Health Statewide Rural and Remote Clinical Network, Secretary of the World Organisation of General Practitioners Working Party on Rural Practice, a member of the Australian Independent Hospital Pricing Authority Board, a founding convener of the Rural Doctors Associations of Queensland and Australia, the founding Chair of the Australian National Rural Health Alliance, former Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine president, and former council member of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.


Dr Natasha Coventry
Dr Natasha Coventry is the Eastern Director of Medical Services based at Cooktown Hospital. She completed her GP training in Far North Queensland, including DRANZCOG (Basic) and Anaesthetics (JCCA), and took up a permanent position as a Rural Generalist Anaesthetist in 2007. Dr Coventry continues to practice procedural Anaesthetics and is involved in building Cooktown as an educational hub for Rural Generalist registrars and medical students.


Dr Sheilagh Cronin
Dr Cronin is currently on the Board of Royal Doctors Association Australia and the Central and North West Queensland Medicare Local. She is Principal GP at the Flinders Medical Centre Cloncurry, and was previously Medical Director for the Central West Queensland Division of GPs. Dr Cronin founded the Rural and Remote Flying Women’s Program in Western Queensland in 1993 and has been a key figure in the development of rural health systems and strategy for Queensland. In 2002 she was appointed as a Medical Advisor to Health Workforce Queensland lending her expertise in the challenges facing rural health outcomes.


Dr John Douyere
Dr John Douyere lives in Longreach where he has worked since 1996 as a rural generalist with obstetric and anaesthetic advanced skills. Since January 2016 Dr Douyere has held the role of Medical Director of the Queensland Rural Generalist Pathway. After graduating from the University of Queensland in 1989 he spent time in Townsville, Ayr, Toowoomba, Charleville and Kilcoy before settling in Longreach. 


John Gregg
John Gregg is the Chief Executive Officer of Northern Queensland Primary Health Network. In previous roles, John Gregg has been Assistant Director within the Federal Government Department of Health in Canberra, as well as filling international health roles in Qatar. John Gregg has also been the former Chief Operations Officer of the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO), the national peak body representing 143 Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services. John Gregg, who has also worked within the United Nations, is passionate about improving primary health services for all northern Queenslanders.

Dr Ewen McPhee
A Rural Generalist in the town of Emerald since 1989, Dr McPhee is the Practice Principal for Emerald Medical Group - a charitable organisation providing medical and health-related services to the community of Emerald. Dr McPhee is current president or the Rural Doctors Association of Australia and a Senior Fellow for Generalist Medical Training.


Chris Mitchell
Chris Mitchell is the Chief Executive Officer of Health Workforce Queensland, and Adjunct Associate Professor at James Cook University. Chris Mitchell leads Health Workforce Queensland to support primary health care in rural and remote Queensland communities. Chris Mitchell has over 30 years leadership experience in public and private hospitals and health workforce development in New South Wales and Queensland.


Dr Louis Peachey
More information coming soon

Dr Denise Powell
Dr Powell has been a doctor for 40 years, the majority of these practicing in the Bundaberg region. District. Dr Powell postgraduate qualification in Family Medicine, Human Nutrition and health professional education, applied science and breast ultrasound. Medical interests include teaching, training, assessing and mentoring doctors and other health professionals. Dr Powell is a Senior Lecturer in General Practice at UQ Rural Clinical School.


Dr Ed Stark

Dr Ed Stark has been a GP in Atherton for nearly 20 years. He has been involved in the supervision of medical students and GP registrars for the majority of this time. He dedicates one day a week to skin cancer screening and surgery. Other medical interests include mental health, elderly health and palliative care. He was formerly chair of the Tropical Medical Training Supervisor Liaison Committee and has recently been appointed a Senior Fellow with JCU GP Training.

Professor Tarun Sen Gupta
Professor Sen Gupta is Director of Medical Education and Professor of Health Professional Education at Medicine and Dentistry at James Cook University and has worked in medical education since 1993. He is currently Co-Director of Queensland Health’s Rural Generalist Pathway and has been involved with both the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and the Australian College of Rural & Remote Medicine on their postgraduate assessment processes. Professor Sen Gupta previously worked in remote solo practice in Richmond, north-west Queensland and currently undertakes clinical practice as a GP one day a week.

JCU GP Training Registrar Liaison Officer - Rotating
More information coming soon

Get In Touch

Ph: 07 4781 3262
Building 39, Level 1,
James Cook University,
Townsville QLD 4811